Missouri Golf Post

2014 Missouri Amateur Championship


2014 Missouri Amateur Championship

St. Louis, Missouri – June 24-29, 2014 – The championship tournament will be held at Norwood Hills Country Club.

The Missouri Golf Association had 350 amateurs attend 1 of 5 different golf courses around the state to attempt to qualify for the 2014 Missouri Amateur Championship. After the qualifying rounds, 147 have been invited to play in the 2014 Missouri Amateur. The 107th Amateur will take place the week of June 24-29 at Norwood Hills Country Club in St. Louis, Missouri. This will be the fourth time the Missouri Amateur Championship has taken place at Norwood Hills CC. The first time it took place here was 1931 when Bryan Winter defeated Les Slattery 3 & 1. Seven years later in 1938, the Missouri Amateur Championship came back to Norwood Hills and Walter Blevins defeated Bob Cochran 5 & 3. The last time the Missouri Amateur Championship took place at Norwood Hills was 1981 when Jim Holtgrieve defeated Dennis Moore 3 & 1. Jim Holtgrieve will be recognized at the Hall of Fame Dinner on June 23rd at 6 p.m. Thirty-three years later, the Championship is back at Norwood Hills. Founded as North Hills Country Club in the early 1920’s by men of keen vision and foresight, Norwood Hills was the first in the area with plans for not just the standard 18-holes, but for forty-five greens upon which the members could play. Moreover, it would not be from the list of local designers that the course architect would be found, but far to the east (Boston to be exact) that a quiet man of uncanny talent was selected – Mr. Wayne Stiles. The tournament will start with a 36-hole stroke play on Tuesday and Wednesday. After the stroke play, 64 players will move to the match play portion of the tournament beginning on Thursday. The Final 36-hole match will take place Sunday. Among the players this year include last year’s defending champ Joey Johnson of Ozark and runner-up Ryan Zech of Kearney. Joey defeated Ryan 7 & 6 last year. Ryan Zech tied for 9th the NCAA Men’s Golf Championship. Other MO AM champions competing this year include: Skip Berkmeyer (1999, 2009, 2011), Brad Nurski (2010), Ben Godwin (2003, 2006) and Don Bliss (1972, 1983, 1986, 1988). Don Bliss is a longtime member of Norwood Hills and will also be honored in the Hall of Fame this year. Also, twenty-one juniors will be proving they have the skills to partake in this event. The youngest player this year is 15 and the oldest is 64. The Missouri Golf Association is a non-profit organization whose purpose is to promote the best interests and true spirit of the game of golf throughout the State of Missouri. The MGA conducts several statewide championships each year, including the Missouri Amateur. The MGA distributes an annual schedule of tournament events and entry forms for each event. Provides advice and information for golf, handicap and rules chairpersons, and provides educational seminars.

Missouri Golf Association

P.O. Box 104164

Jefferson City, MO 65110

(573) 636-8994 Fax: (573) 636-4225


Email: mogolf@mogolf.org


Related Post

About Us

The Missouri Golf Post is a monthly digital magazine that “celebrates the people who play the game.” Each monthly issue contains several “feature” stories on golfers, golf courses, and/or major tournaments of interest statewide. Each issue contains a number of regular departments on topics such as Tournament Summaries, Fitness, “The Superintendent’s Corner,” Instruction, and Rules.


2000 East Broadway Suite 148 Columbia MO 65201